Designing my portfolio website: First Steps

As part of my course I have been asked to create a portfolio website so …lets begin.

Initial ideas for my site and stuff to include:

  • I want the home page to be clean and crisp and the other pages to contain most the content
  • I want there to be a slide show of my previous work incorporated into the home page.
  • I want there to be a clear colour scheme
  • I want the navigation to be right at the very top of every page in a menu that always looks the same
  • I want to stick to the same theme of background images throughout the site but for them to change slightly

A few websites that really inspire me:

http://OwaikeO.com

http://unowhy.com/

http://www.serialcut.com/

http://www.tearoundapp.com/

So now to start drawing a wireframe for my home page….

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Ok so now I have drawn a very basic layout for my home page.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Now I have my basic idea I will start using photoshop to make it look clean and presentable.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I have decided on this basic layout but I think it is a bit plain and boring.

I want to add a theme to it which will be present throughout the website. I really like http://owaikeo.com and I would like to make my page look as great as that.

Obviously I can’t make it look like his because he is an amazing illustrator and draws all his images himself.

However, I do like the concept of making the page look almost 3D and as if it is folded and covered in objects.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

What I’ve Done So Far:

Well… I have made my general layout on HTML5 and have made it look a bit snazzy with CSS but it is just very basic right now. Only block colour and simple fonts.

I have also started teaching myself some basic jquery, thanks to tutorials,and have been able to put a slideshow on my page that actually looks awesome!

Here is what it looks like so far…

(That picture is actually a slide show)

Next I need to fill in all the information that I will include on the home page and all the text.

Then I will start creating images in photoshop to add in as the background and as random objects similar to  the owaikeo example.

Leave a Reply

